COMMUNIQUE

Benchmarking Visit by the Namibian Parliamentary Committees to the Mauritius National Assembly

A delegation from two Parliamentary Committees of the National Assembly of Namibia, namely, the Standing Committee on Human Resources and Community Development, led by Hon. (Mrs) Gerhardine Nono Katjingisiua, MP, Chairperson and the Standing Committee on Economics and Public Administration, led by Hon. Mathias Mbundu, MP, are currently undertaking a benchmarking visit to the Mauritius National Assembly.

The delegation paid a courtesy call on the Hon. Sooroojdev PHOKEER, GCSK, GOSK, Speaker of the National Assembly, this morning on Monday 15 May 2023. Welcoming the delegates, the Hon. Speaker emphasised on the importance of benchmarking visits which facilitate parliamentary exchanges on best practices.

The delegates undertook a guided visit to the Chamber and to the different Parliamentary Services of the National Assembly.

In line with the objective of the Standing Committee on Human Resources and Community Development to benchmark on best practices and share experience on matters relating to youth empowerment programme with a view to promoting and improving the quality of life of young persons, the delegates will pay courtesy calls on the following Hon. Ministers which will be followed by interactive sessions with Senior Officers of their respective ministries: -

- (i) Hon. Mrs Leela Devi DOOKHUN-LUCHOOMUN, GCSK, Vice-Prime Minister, Minister of Education, Tertiary Education, Science and Technology;
- Hon. Soodesh Satkam CALLICHURN, Minister of Labour, Human Resource Development and Training, Minister of Commerce and Consumer Protection;
- (iii) Hon. Mrs Kalpana Devi KOONJOO-SHAH, Minister of Gender Equality and Family Welfare; and
- (iv) Hon. Teeruthraj HURDOYAL, Minister of Public Service, Administrative and Institutional Reforms.

The Standing Committee on Economics and Public Administration, on its part, wishing to learn on the achievements of Mauritius in terms of industrial performance and ease of doing business, the delegates will pay courtesy calls on the following Hon. Ministers followed by interactive sessions with Senior Officers of their respective ministries:-

- (i) Hon. Mrs Fazila JEEWA-DAUREEAWOO, GCSK, Minister of Social Integration, Social Security and National Solidarity;
- (ii) Hon. Soomilduth BHOLAH, Minister of Industrial Development, SMEs and Cooperatives;
- (iii) Hon. Mahendranuth Sharma HURREERAM, Minister of National Infrastructure and Community Development; and
- (iv) Hon. Sudheer MAUDHOO, Minister of Blue Economy, Marine Resources, Fisheries and Shipping.

Moreover, the delegation will also have a meeting with the Chairperson of the Economic Development Board.

During the study tour, the delegates will undertake guided visits to the Aapravasi Ghat World Heritage Site and the Le Morne Cultural Heritage Landscape and Monument of Nature.

Mauritius National Assembly Parliament House Port Louis Monday 15 May 2023